Strange: Lawyer killed by son not known by colleagues

Until his gruesome murder in the hands of his 21-year-old son Tolani, a 300-level undergraduate of the Department of History and International Relations at Redeemer Univer­sity, RCCG Camp, Ogun State, last week, the name Charles Ajayi (SAN) did not ring a bell even in the legal profession where he was said to have risen to the highest rank in his career.
Attempts by Sunday Sun to do a special report on his contributions to the legal profes­sion met a brick wall as most senior lawyers claimed not to know him or heard about him until his death.
Not even the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) could come out to identify him as a SAN. When contacted, the president of the association, Mr. Okey Wali (SAN) had this to say;
“Honestly, I have not come across him or heard of his name before. There is nobody I have asked that seemed to know him. I think we need to check the records because I don’t know him personally and you know the num­ber of SANs in Nigeria is not much. But we can’t come to conclusion because sometimes if you are not active on the Bar, not many people will know you.”

Constitutional lawyer and author, Sabastine Hon (SAN) just like the NBA President said he has not come across the name Charles Ajayi (SAN) in the legal profession.
“Frankly speaking, I have not heard of that name before or come across somebody that knows him. It is rather unfortunate that he died at a time his services are needed most. Death comes in several ways, unfortunately in his case, it came through his own son. My heart goes to the family and I pray that God should comfort them.”
Also speaking, Lagos lawyer, Mr. Femi Falana (SAN) said; “No, I don’t know him. Frankly speaking, I can’t figure out his name, but call me back in two hours, maybe I may find something about him.”
Chief Chris Uche (SAN) said, “I don’t know him and have not come across him or heard about him until the sad news of his death. I will find out about him and call you back.”
Also speaking on the issue, another Senior Advocate of Nigeria and a national delegate to the on-going National Conference, Chief Mike Ozekhome (SAN) had this to say; “In fact, I don’t even know him. I have never heard about him before now. You know the clan of SAN is small, I never heard of a name like that as SAN. He could be a lawyer, but certainly not a SAN.”
Efforts to reach the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Mr. Sunday Olorundahunsi on his mobile phone for clarification on the matter were not successful.
To further compound the matter, nobody seems to know his Abuja residence.
The late Ajayi was killed by his son, Tolani who reportedly chopped his body to pieces before dumping the remains in a bush near his home in Ogun State. According to a witness, the incident occurred after an argument between Tolani and his father. The late lawyer had reportedly questioned his son over his at­titude and refusal to follow Biblical teachings.
The boy, a 300-level student of the Depart­ment of History and International Relations at Redeemer University, RCCG Camp, Ogun State, allegedly became infuriated when his father slapped him.
Tolani retaliated by stabbing his father with a knife. He then hacked the body to pieces, packed the mutilated corpse in a box and dumped it in a nearby bush.
WHY I KIILED MY FATHER
Tolani who is now being detained at Police Headquarters, Elewaren, Abeokuta said he killed his father because he provoked him. He, however, expressed regret, asking his mother to forgive him. He said he had asked God for forgiveness.
“I have sent some people to talk to her that I am sorry. I have talked to my sister. My mother is still grieving. I want to give her time. It may be spiritual, so I have asked God for forgiveness.”
It was learnt that the 21-year old was into drugs as he had been caught twice by the school authorities. A panel was said to have also been set up to interrogate him on drug-related matters before he committed the murder.
Tolani confessed to being into drugs saying, “ I tried those drugs myself. I might have heard of it from my friends but I tried them myself.”
He said he used a kitchen knife and a cutlass to attack his father during an argument between them, but denied being under the influence of the drugs then, as the action was not premeditated.
“The incident happened around 1 am, when the church community would have been sleeping. It was anger that led me into this. My father just bit me repeatedly with his teeth.
“There was an argument between us and I stood up to him. He beat me with a stick and bit me. Just two of us were at home, my mother was in Abuja.
“My father went to the kitchen and got a stick (wooden spoon) and used it on me repeatedly and I tried to defend myself, then he bit me on my shoulder and I got angry. I used normal small kitchen knife, after I used cutlass to attack him. I regret the action.
“We live in Abuja, I school at Redemption University at the camp. My father came for a programme and we were on break, so, I went to meet him where he lodged. We were meant to go back to Abuja together, then, the incident happened and I am here.”
When asked if he needs the help of Nigeri­ans, he said, “There is no way Nigerians can help me. I am going to face my judgment. I am meant to pay for what I have done, it is not as if I am ready but it is inevitable. It is something that is going to happen; I am just waiting for it.”