Meet the Boy who plays the Trumpet with his feet and toes.

           


  No excuse for failure! Read and be inspired!

HE’s 10-years old. He believes he can fly. He can play the trumpet. And he has no arms. Meet – and Jahmir Wallace.
The 5th-grade schoolboy is also an inspiration. His story has flashed around the world after video of his performance at a school concert was posted online.
It was a concert like many others in a school like many others, but the boy was unlike anybody else.
Only he doesn’t see it that way.
“My older sister used to play the piano,” Jahmir told a Fox 8 New Jersey reporter. “So I thought maybe I should try an instrument. I thought maybe I could try and figure out new things.”
The sound of his success rang out during the fifth-grade winter concert held inside Green Street Elementary School in Phillipsburg.
Jahmir was born without arms.
He does everything with his feet and toes.

“Everybody who knew him said if Jahmir wants to play the trumpet, “we want him to play the trumpet,” music teacher Desiree Kratzer said.
The sound of his first note still resonates strong his the boy’s memory.
“I kind of felt excited,” he said. “I kind of felt like, oh man this is kind of comfortable and it kind of felt like this might be the one for me.”
All it took to help Jahmir achieve his dream was a little help and ingenuity.
School staff and employees at a local music store took to the task with gusto. They designed and built a special stand to hold the trumpet firm and fast.
The rest was up to Jahmir.
“To see how he moves his toes like we move our fingers,” said Raffaele LaForgia, principal of Green Street Elementary. “It’s amazing.”
Now he listens to Stevie Wonder for inspiration and says the R & B song by R. Kelly I Believe I Can Fly is his absolute favourite. He thrills in performing Go tell Aunt Rhodie with the 40-strong school band.
Jahmir is adamant he be treated just like every other student at the school.
But he is thankful for the initiative shown by his music teacher.
“If it wasn’t for her I would never know what the trumpet was,” he said.

Leave a comment